Speaking of #BlackGirlMagic, Where’s Mine?

Screenshot 2016-04-08 17.17.48 #BlackGirlMagic is probably one of the best hashtags to have come about during this new era of activism. It promotes loving one’s body, culture, and personality while showcasing how multifaceted Black girls can be. However, when you see enough posts using the hashtag, then do a quick search, you’ll notice that there are certain types of #BlackGirlMagic being praised. What do I mean?  I know for a fact that when I see the hashtag, I see a girl that’s showing her new pastel colored braids, or a girl showing a new outfit, or another girl showing a new hairdo. My point is, in my experience with the hashtag, I’ve only seen pretty girls with nice hair, nice skin, and cute outfits. I have yet to see the hashtag being used to embrace all Black types of Black girl magic.

What if my makeup is not on fleek? What if my twistout isn’t giving life? What if I don’t have any fashion sense? What if I’m not in shape or glowing? Is my magic good enough to be displayed with the hashtag?

Although this an amazing thing that has been taking over the internet, it could still be consequential nonetheless. If I am unable to see myself in these young women as I look through countless hashtags, what does that tell me? What does that tell other young girls who are trying to find themselves? I sincerely hope that this hashtag grows into something that can be more inclusive of all types of Black girl magic. Otherwise, the hashtag would not be able to live up to its responsibility.

1 Comment

  1. This is a really good observation. I personally don’t follow the hashtag so I’m unaware of the things posted using it. But I think that part of the “magic” the hashtag is really aiming for is respect, and respect shouldn’t only come with good looks. It should come with simply being a black woman, being a human being! (Body) Positivity is definitely great because, from what I understand, historically, black girls have been told that they aren’t the “ideal” aesthetic (as a result of messages sent from the media and entertainment industry and their choice of casting models, actresses, and just generally excluding women and women of color from their work) and I think fighting that is super important. However, just in general, all women should be celebrated for all things–being an awesome stay-at-home-mom, being a leader, doing whatever positive thing it is that they’re doing. I think all girls, all black girls, INCLUDING YOU, have so much magic inside of them that we as a society need to start recognizing and including and privileging.

    Like

Leave a Reply

